• Disclaimer: This Vendor's Forum is a paid-for commercial area. Unlike the rest of diyAudio, the Vendor has complete control of what may or may not be posted in this forum. If you wish to discuss technical matters outside the bounds of what is permitted by the Vendor, please use the non-commercial areas of diyAudio to do so.

Tubelab Simple SE OPT Query (Hammond 1628SE vs 1629SE)

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
hi guy,
believe me. i had tried searching the forum for answer to my query.
please do also bear with my newbie question as i am very new to tube/valve.

i am in the process of building the Tubelab Simple SE, which is my first tube integrated project.
George stated that "The ideal primary impedance for this design is 5K ohms."
my question is : what is the consequences if 1629SE with primary impedence at 6.5k is used instead?
reason for asking is i have a very good offer of a pair of 1629SE.

one consequence that i can think of is the lower end of the frequency being affected. (5k has better bass control)
what other effect will one expect if 1629SE OPT is used instead of 1628SE.

thanks in advance.

Usually the trade-off for a higher impedance ratio is that you get less power output but a bit more dampening factor. To put it another way, it gives the tube more leverage against the speaker but it can't move it as far. That is a highly simplistic explanation as there are lots of other trade-offs as well, but they can be ignored for the most part as long as you don't deviate too far.