diy MESA pre as 3rd channel on guitar amp? - Need Advise!

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello, my name is Ryan, I am a full time student at UCSB, and looking for advise on an ambitious project idea. This is my first post here, and after some searching it seems like there are a lot of very knowledgeable people on this forum. I would like to pick your brains on my project idea to make my “Dream” guitar amp.

I recently acquired a 1988 Carvin XV-212C guitar amp off of craigslist for a great price. It is a 6l6 powered, 100watt, two channel amp with Celestion G12's. It is the combo version of Carvin's X100b head made famous by Steve Vai and Frank Zappa. I absolutely love this amp, but the one thing it is lacking is a good high gain channel.

I have been playing guitar for 8 years or so and recently joined a band. We play many different genres of music, often including modern hard rock like Tool, early Godsmack, Metallica and originals that require a Modern Mesa Dual Rectifier style sound.

The Clean channel on the Carvin is absolutely stunning, I play a Gibson LP studio, and have never heard a clean tone I’ve liked more. The Gain channel, sounds great with lower gain, and blues tones, something I use quite often.
However, it does not do high gain well. Due to the cabinets open back design, poor condition and sheer weight, I am planning on converting it into a homemade head and separate 2x12 setup.

Here's Carvin's link to info on the amp, and details on it's design and signal path for those who may be interested ("Design" pg. 5): http://www.carvinguitars.com/manuals/X-AMP.pdf