Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 9th November 2009, 12:56 PM   #1
Zekk is offline Zekk  Singapore
diyAudio Member

Default 1.5VDC Heater Supply For #26!?

I am a newbie ... don't laugh ya !

OK ... wish to build a #26 linestage but having problem getting the 1.5VDC required for the #26 tube!

Built Chris Brady's design : 5VAC~Schottky bridge~10K uf~0.47R~10K uf~LM1086~1.2R . I got 4.7VDC !? From here, how do I acheives the 1.5VDC@1A needed for the Type 26 tube?

Thanks for looking & any help forecoming,

Zekk
Old 9th November 2009, 01:03 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zekk View Post
I am a newbie ... don't laugh ya !

OK ... wish to build a #26 linestage but having problem getting the 1.5VDC required for the #26 tube!

Built Chris Brady's design : 5VAC~Schottky bridge~10K uf~0.47R~10K uf~LM1086~1.2R . I got 4.7VDC !? From here, how do I acheives the 1.5VDC@1A needed for the Type 26 tube?

Thanks for looking & any help forecoming,

Zekk
Hey.

Don't know about this design, but you mention the 1.2R resistor, and therefore I think the LM1086 is configured as a CCS (the 1.2R between adjust and output, and the tube filament fed from 'adj'). This means that the regulator will pass only 1A, which multiplied by the Resistance of the 26's cathode will develop 1,5V. Prior to testing that, just post the schematic!

Erik
Old 9th November 2009, 01:13 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

In principle that should work, with LM1086 as current source. that means 1.2R between adj and out pins. Be careful to take the output from the adjust pin!! This may be where you are going wrong.