How to avoid oscillation and get max BW out of crappy OPT - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 9th October 2009, 09:32 PM   #1
tomchr is offline tomchr  United States
diyAudio Member

Default How to avoid oscillation and get max BW out of crappy OPT

Folks,

After lurking and contributing for a while, I'm finally starting my first thread. To mark the occasion, I figured some introduction is in order.
I design semiconductors for a living. Currently I'm designing precision timing products (ultra-low noise clock generators). Prior to that I designed precision op-amps (5 uV offset, 145 dB AVOL, 20 nV/degC TC(Vos) kind of stuff). So I know my way around most sand based analog circuits. But I've never worked with vacuum tubes. I've decided to give it a whirl.

My end goal is to design a medium powered (20-30 W, P-P) tube amp. But I figured I'd start small, so I've decided to build a Spud based on a 6LU8 Compactron. I'll use the triode section as a preamp/driver for the pentode section. Much like the Tubelab Simple SE (thanks George for making that available!). I don't expect to get neighborhood-leveling power out of it - a watt or two would be nice. But I would like reasonably low distortion and audio bandwidth out of it.

I got some el-cheapo OPT's from Antique Electronic Supply. Just something cheap to blow up before spending real money... I measured the equivalent circuit parameters of the OPT using an HP 4194A Impedance Analyzer:

Lseries = 60 mH
Lprimary = 2.59 H
Rseries = 772 Ohm
Cparallel = 43 pF