• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

How to avoid oscillation and get max BW out of crappy OPT

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Folks,

After lurking and contributing for a while, I'm finally starting my first thread. To mark the occasion, I figured some introduction is in order.
I design semiconductors for a living. Currently I'm designing precision timing products (ultra-low noise clock generators). Prior to that I designed precision op-amps (5 uV offset, 145 dB AVOL, 20 nV/degC TC(Vos) kind of stuff). So I know my way around most sand based analog circuits. But I've never worked with vacuum tubes. I've decided to give it a whirl.

My end goal is to design a medium powered (20-30 W, P-P) tube amp. But I figured I'd start small, so I've decided to build a Spud based on a 6LU8 Compactron. I'll use the triode section as a preamp/driver for the pentode section. Much like the Tubelab Simple SE (thanks George for making that available!). I don't expect to get neighborhood-leveling power out of it - a watt or two would be nice. But I would like reasonably low distortion and audio bandwidth out of it.

I got some el-cheapo OPT's from Antique Electronic Supply. Just something cheap to blow up before spending real money... I measured the equivalent circuit parameters of the OPT using an HP 4194A Impedance Analyzer:

Lseries = 60 mH
Lprimary = 2.59 H
Rseries = 772 Ohm
Cparallel = 43 pF

To develop a SPICE model for the 6LU8 tube, I used Norman Koren's MATLAB script. It does a fair job, I'd say. But then I'm not looking to predict exact circuit performance here, just get an idea of if it'll work or not.