Using a PC as source? + "garage sale" - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 13th September 2009, 10:25 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Using a PC as source? + "garage sale"

Hello all,

The wife is telling me to "clean out the basement of all those lightbulbs", so I started selling off some of my tubes on Ebay. (If your looking for some unusual tubes or specifics just email me and I'll see if I have it)
The common or "sought after stuff is either gone or I am keeping but I do have some weird stuff so it's worth a shot.

The real reason for the post is this.

I am a computer hobbyist and I am using the new found funds to build a new PC, (I am typing this on an old dual P3 server).

I am wondering who out there is using a PC as a common source for music. ie MP3's etc. on a regular basis and what type of sound cards are they using?

Any searchs I have done for "Audiophile Soundcard" (I almost think those two terms are mutually exclusive LOL) come up with an M-Audio 2496 or similar.

I am looking for ANY opinions on this and first hand experience etc.

So C'mon and post your .02 cents!!!
Old 13th September 2009, 10:29 PM   #2
SY is offline SY  United States
diyAudio Moderator

It's not the very, very best, but the M-Audio Audiophile 192 has worked very well for me, and has balanced I/O. Not much more expensive than the 2496 but better performance, IME.
Old 13th September 2009, 11:25 PM   #3
Glowbug is offline Glowbug  United States
diyAudio Member

Check this thread out, among many others: http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/showt...48#post1923048