• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

#26 pre amp

I know this ship has sailed, but after hearing the sjs modified Rui Lourenco preamp in my system I had to try to build one.
The wood and metal work is what I am best at, but apart from building various clones (I still use a Velleman K4040 clone) I am pretty much a novice here. I am struggling my way into PSUD2 and LTspice (I hate computers, and they seem to reciprocate the feeling!), but I have a couple (!) of questions for you all.
Firstly, the 10 ohm filament resistor; the Vishay/Dale flat wirewounds seem to be unobtainable, so what is a good replacement non-inductive resistor, or resistors if I parallel them? I have read the whole 381 pages of this thread, but can't remember where I saw alternatives recommended.
And valve sockets for the AZ1; there are a couple (from Langrex), one ceramic and one bakelite (that one looks used although he calls it NOS). Would it make much difference, or are there better alternatives? Without spending Yamamoto money!
I am in the UK, so US sales tend to cause problems, but I will go there if it's the only way.
And I haven't even started on the valves, apart from a cheap AZ1 to get me going. Any advice on the 26s would be appreciated, or even if anyone has some to sell.
The OP txs are Lundahl 2745/8mA, but the rest of the iron is Hammond, to keep costs down. They are all on the way.
Any help and advice greatly appreciated.

I know this ship has sailed, but after hearing the sjs modified Rui Lourenco preamp in my system I had to try to build one.