• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

help w/ Eico hf-81

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm a beginner but have built a Fender Deluxe amp, including debugging it..

I bought a hf-81, cleaned it up, replaced the power cable with a grounded one, and replaced the power capacitors.
Then powered it on for less than one min. and identified the following issues:
1) the power on light doesn't come on. The bulb appears ok - measured it's resistance. There was no DC current at the bulb, but now that I'm writing this I realize I should have measured AC..
2) the power transformer makes a buzzing noise - not terribly loud, but loud enough to be distracting and not something you want to keep.
3) one channel power tubes do not appear to behave. After about 15 seconds a high-to-low sound is produced and shortly or around that time a flash or some flashing occurs in the one channel tubes. I immediately turned the amp off and switched the tubes with the other channel. The same channel displayed the same behavior, so I'm concluding the issue is not the tubes. Then I removed the bad channel power tubes and turned on the amp for about 2 min. - no problems (other than the transformer buzzing).

It's late here, so tomorrow I'll measure the AC voltage at the power on light.
For the strange tube behavior in the bad channel I'm guessing the stage coupling caps may need replacing and are doing some wacky voltage stuff?? or maybe something along those lines??

Thanks in advance for your help. Given my Fender amp.. I do realize I'm in for a little adventure, but really look forward hearing this amp sing.

Paul