Heater-Cathode Voltage - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 9th August 2009, 04:22 AM   #1
bobbyq is offline bobbyq  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Heater-Cathode Voltage

Hello all,

This is my first post, although I've been a member now for a while. As a hobby,I've been studying "electronics" and "tube electronics" for a couple of years now. My goal is to be able to design and build great sounding components for my enjoyment and that of my family and friends. I am still far from my goal. I'm afraid I'm seriously mathematically disinclined, and I'm really stubborn about asking for help.

I've recently built Fred Nachbaur's phono-pre and I've just finished "Frank's 6SN7" line level pre. Both of these were built with about 97% salvage materials, in the interest of minimizing the cost of learning. I did make a walnut and aluminum chassis for the new pre though.

Since Frank's pre schematic doesn't really include a power supply, I'm a little concerned about the heater-cathode voltage since I cobbled together the power supply from on-hand components.

I've searched high and low, and maybe I'm not using good search terms, but I can't find a direct description of how to measure "heater cathode voltage". I mean, seemingly all tubes have a maximum "heater-cathode voltage" which may be X volts positive or negative. Everybody must already know how to measure this or else there would be some better references on the web. I however, do not.

Would someone please point me to a reference of how to measure this parameter or provide their own description?

Thanks.
Old 9th August 2009, 05:55 AM   #2
diyAudio Member