new build - abdellah SE KT88 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 28th July 2009, 07:58 PM   #1
vince76 is offline vince76  Italy
diyAudio Member

Default new build - abdellah SE KT88

Hy all,
I'm new here and this is my first build.
The circuit is the Abbellah KT88 as Gendrano has modified. except for the fact I substituted the 5 mH inductance with 250R resistors and omitted the two 10 uF condenser connected to the 47K res going on the plate of ecc88.

The amp works, so I'm happy (it is a good news for a first builder)
Anyway I have some answers for you experienced builders:

I left off the standby swich, should I include it for some reason like improving tube life?

I hear a little hum, I believe it is 50Hz related hum. what can I do? better B+ filtering or DC on filaments?

when the amp is on I can hear the rectifier rattling. is this normal?

When no source is connected to the amp (I included a source selector) I can hear a Prrrrrrr coming out from the speaker... what the hell is happening? Maybe I was wrong when connected the grounds of the two sources together? hope can understand me

hope someone can help me.

Vincenzo
Old 28th July 2009, 10:08 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Default about hum

just discovered that only one channel hums.
should I swap the output tube to see if the hum is related to the tube?
how to verify it doesn't depend on the ecc88?
thank you,
V.
Old 29th July 2009, 05:32 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

Location: Mar del Plata, a BIG seasonal getaway city, can see the Ocean from our residence.
Vincenzo...