Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 16th July 2009, 07:48 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default help on a SE 4 channel tube amp for auto?

Hello all,

I am new here and seeking advice on an amplifier project I would like to build.

Since I am new here just a little about myself, I am a semi-retired television technician (thanks circuit city) who has been interested in and collected tubes and related equipment for years. I recently however decided to build my own first set of amps. I chose a pair of techmaster tm-15a s mainly because I was able to aquire the pair to one I had at the time and I did not consider them as worthy as some of the other units that are waiting for rebuild. The amps were built for my wife for our 12th year, so there was a lot of love built into them. They were built from the ground up, refinishing chasis transformers etc. These are 2 X 6SN7 2 X 6L6 and your favorite flavor of rectifier (5AR4/GZ34 for me in these). They are virtually the same as the heathkit W-2, but they are on one chasis as a W4. They are equipped with the venerable altec 16283 OPTs 7 strand milspec silver over copper and some fabulous Western Electric coupling caps. These amps will now totally blow away my citation II that was rebuilt by GSI (now known as the dual 60 by GSI... late 80s early 90s any info on this rare unit would be greatly appreciated) I also believe that if you are going to take the time to do something you had better do it right. ( one reason why I have collected for so long and have not put my hobby to practice 10yrs, I have yet to feel comfortable altering something that has stood the test of time so long). I really prefer tubes and dislike