• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Left channel BAD in stereo! HELP please! It's my first tube set

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi, I am a newbie in the wonderful world of tube technology.
I picked up a beautiful RCA Victor Stereo console at a thrift store for a mere $40. I am excited about it because it is my first tube stereo, it has FM, and to my surprise it can pick up shortwave with a apropriate antenna. I like the glowing blue magic eye too.
It was dead at the store for some reason, no lights no nothing.
So they chopped it down from $80 to $39. When I got it home, I took the back off and looked in to see all kinds of neat architecture of probably the 40's or 50's. I crossed my fingers and plugged it in, after a few secinds; the tubes glowed and the magic eye came on, and the dial lit up via two lightbulbs behind it.

Well I tuned in to an FM station, and followed the magic eye.
Rich deep sound came out of the left channel, but not the left.
I played with the ballance and if I turned it to the extreme left I could get weak sound on the left speaker.

I went into the unit and dissconected the unamplified stereo signal from the tuner/radio chasis, and fed it dorectly into some seperate speakers. I cranked the volume to the MAX and plugged the radio in. I got weak sound on BOTH channels, so there is left and right un amplified sound going INTO the Amplifier chassis.

There are two output transformers for each channel, I pray that the one for the left is not fried. There is a seperate tube for each channel so I switched them to see if it was a bad tube and no there wasn't a difference.