6N6P - recommended operating point - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 21st June 2009, 04:50 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default 6N6P - recommended operating point

Yesterday I bought some 6N6P double triodes on Ebay. I have never used this tube before and want to use them in a line stage.

In the past I have used the Sovtek 6N30 a lot and really like this tube. But its characteristics are not the same as 6N6P. So I donít expect the 6N6P to be a drop in replacement for the 6N30.

I did a lot of experimentation with the 6N30, and know how important a good chosen operating point is, to bring a triode to its full sonic potential.

Can anyone give a recommendation for the 6N6P. What is a good operating point to start with? The anode load will be a Constant Current Source, and the cathode will be self biasing or constant voltage.

Peter
Old 21st June 2009, 06:29 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

hey-Hey!!!,
I've gotten good results from anode current between 10 and 15 mA using a CCS load. LED's in the cathode for bias, and liked it with two or three of them in series. That puts anode voltage in the neighborhood of 150V, give or take a bit.
cheers,
Douglas
Old 21st June 2009, 09:24 PM   #3
Gordy is offline Gordy  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

And now the votes from the East Anglian jury...

16mA CCS
-3 V via bypassed cathode resistor
110 V anode

Rp worked out to about 1.8 k Ohms

Loaded with 4.3 k Ohms (30 Ohm headphone through 12:1 transformer)

Worked fine !

This may be useful to you ( and a thousand lurkers! )...
http://klausmobile.narod.ru/testerfiles/6n6p.htm
http://www.klausmobile.narod.ru/testerfiles/index.htm