Oh my where to begin!? PTP related question. - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 3rd June 2009, 07:44 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Oh my where to begin!? PTP related question.

Well this is sort of an introduction thread and a question in one. I'm new to these (DIY) parts of the audio world. I've been a headphone fanatic for a few years now, owning a slew of headphone and headphone amps. Well I want to get together my first truly nice speaker setup and I want to DIY the whole thing end to end. So I've been reading the last few days trying to wrap my head around so much information about tubes. I've read the stickies and done some searching. I found a ton of useful information but I'm still confused at some things which is to be expected. Well enough rambling...

I'm thinking that my first amp build is going to be a TubeLab SE amp but I have the desire to do this in a PTP fashion and not on a PCB. Has anyone done a TubeLab PTP build? From looking at pics of the PCB assembly process I don't think this would be overly difficult but having never build an amp I could be terribly underestimating. Oh and I do have some previous electronics experience, I can read schematics and also solder. I've just never dealt with tubes or transformers.

-Jim
Old 3rd June 2009, 09:24 PM   #2
diyAudio Member