• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

PP amp design , your thoughts please.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I have been running the output section of this design for about 2 years now driven by a 6AN8, so no problems there .

I plan on running a 6SL7GT input section instead of the 6AN8 . My circuit values are based off of a 6SL7GT spec sheet .

Output tubes are triode tied 6P6S (similar to Tetrode 6V6GT ) , and input tube is 6SL7GT.

I have 2 different designs in mind, one with bypassed cathode resistors, one without.

Am I missing anything obvious here ? Anything that is taboo or plain stupid ?

With bypass capacitors :

http://img17.imageshack.us/img17/7360/my6sl7gt6v6ppamp.png

Without :

http://img199.imageshack.us/img199/3485/my6sl7gt6v6ppampwlocalf.png

I understand using the circuit that does NOT have bypass capacitors will have less gain. I understand each gain stage will have a loop of local feedback.

Will this reduce dynamic peaks , or is it simply an overall gain reduction meaning that I will have to turn the volume knob up a little more for the same output ?

Any comments or words of wisdom ?

Thanks...........................Blake

That looks like it's going to distort heavily. There's not a whole lot there to force the two triodes to balance closely.

510K on the anode of a 6SL7 is pretty harsh. I'm not even sure it'll work properly.. if you're going for a Long-Tailed Pair, you want to read this link and re-do some math:

http://www.aikenamps.com/LongTailPairDesign.htm