Capacitor Comparison Conundrum - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 25th May 2009, 04:46 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Talking Capacitor Comparison Conundrum

I have been buying dribs and drabs of various poly/film caps in order to do comparisons and am at a bit of an impasse. Among those I have tried are RIFA, Ero, Sprague 716, Mallory 150, and some blue ones whose brand name eludes me at this moment. To be quite honest, I don't hear much if any difference tonally...noise level is the only major distinction I can see (hear?). Is it the medium I am using...I am a guitarist so guitar amps are my main area of interest. Maybe "higher quality" caps with 5% and 10% tolerances are lost on the guitar's comparatively narrow frequency response range. Not a total loss though...it's a lot of fun ....
As always...thanks for coddling this toob-noob....
Old 27th May 2009, 01:45 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Default Re: Capacitor Comparison Conundrum

Quote:
Originally posted by bereanbill
To be quite honest, I don't hear much if any difference tonally...
My very good friend,

Glad that your hearing is still normal! There have been quite a few articles on this either way, but notably a very well researched series of tests on all kinds of capacitors, by Cyril Bateman in 'Electronics World' August 2002 - about Dec. 2002.

I am constantly reminded of these very wise words by a Scottish expert on oils, when as a young engineer I asked a rather academic question: "Laddie, ya shouldna listen to all the old wives' tales ya hear." (Apologies for implied Scottish accent, which I just love!)