Advise for nervous EL84 user - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 15th May 2009, 06:40 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Advise for nervous EL84 user

Hi Newbie here,
I have a Tube Technology Unisis and need some help on valves. I've swaped the signal valves no problem to Brimar's.

Problem (might just be me) I have is with EL84's. It takes 8 of these and I'm currently running JJ's with no problem. I ordered some Ei valves and subsequently the amp went up in smoke, one valve seat flashed over, a few resistors taken out and a fused pin welded into one of the sockets. So I'm extremely cautious about trying anything else....I've been offered some used NOS Mullards , the Genalex mullard re-issues seem to be well respected. I'm not a valve expert and the amp needs to be biased manually...

My questions are really how do I know which valves to match the amp...I know the JJ's work so what valves work on the same spec..I know an EL84 should be the same as any other but some of the higher voltage models ...how do i make the decision?...I've seen NOS Tesla's on offer too but really dont want all the fireworks and fuss all over again. You see my dilema? I want to improve on the JJ's which I though the smaller 12AX7's were a bit thick and chesty...but I really dont want to throw away on NOS valves and then the amp goes up etc...

Any help much appreciated.
Old 16th May 2009, 01:43 PM   #2
Funker is offline Funker  Germany
diyAudio Member

Hi ,
you got probably a huge problem.
Before anyone can really help you to find the fault put the drawing of the amp to your thread.