Anyone with knowledge of the 12b4? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 12th May 2009, 09:43 PM   #1
surfstu is offline surfstu  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Default Anyone with knowledge of the 12b4?

I am getting hardly any gain from my linestage.

B+ is 250V

V at pin 9 anode = 140
V before anode resistor = 230

V across cathode resistor = 10V

cathode resisor = 470

current at cathode = 10/470 = 21 mA

i'm using a 100K stepped attenuator

the sound is incredibly bassy and very low in volume

The guy who helped me build my psu says i should just use 2 ecc83 valves instead but i would really like to get this 12b4 working, i have little knowledge of tube electronics which is why I am calling on anyone who can help! I have a feeling that the 12b4 does not behave like a typical preamp valve and have attached the circuit as i have built it

thanks in advance

stuart
Attached Images
File Type: jpg phils-linestage_update.jpg (50.7 KB, 300 views)
Old 12th May 2009, 10:57 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Should work like a charm as drawn. Expected gain should be approx 5.
What are you driving and what is driving the amp?
Bassy sound indicates a hf roll off somewhere. That 220R grid stopper is really 220R and not 220k or something?

/Olof
Old 12th May 2009, 11:03 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

i feel like a fool, 3 days i've spent on this, I just discovered that it does work like a dream like you say.... i had taken my output caps from the wrong side of the anode resistor, classic schoolboy error?

I have volume now...

but.... an even higher volume of continual hiss/hum... quite high in pitch....