diy Ampeg preamp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all,

I want to make a hybrid amplifier for bass guitar. I want to make the preamp of an "Ampeg Classic".
For the poweramp, I want to use the UCD400 module from Hypex. (I will also start a new thread about this in class D subforum)

I am studying electronics, and I already built a guitar amplifier, based on the Marshall 18W. But that was just following the schematic.
Now I have a few questions.

- What's the main difference - soundwise - between channel 1 and 2?

- In stead of 2 jacks for bright and normal, I assume that I just can use one jack and a switch?

- How do I connect this preamp to the poweramp? I would think: with connection 1 and 4 (ground). But the UCD400 has a differential input.

- Is the "mid-range"-coil available in shops? Or do I have to wind one myself? How to do this? (I read somewhere that the value of the coil is: 0-100-300-800 mH)

- I want to delete the polarity switch. That's no problem, I think?

- The switch of the "mid-range select"; is that a 2P3T (2-pole 3-throw)?

- The 600V caps (above the fan). They are electrolytic, I assume? What is there polarity? Why don't they just use one?

- Is 1/4 Watt enough for the resistors?

I hope you guys can help me out a bit. Thank you very much.

Here is the schematic of the preamp:
http://members.lycos.nl/carrejans/temp/AmpegPreamp.jpg

Here is the schematic of the ampeg poweramp (I'm not using this, but it might be handy to look where the connections go to):
http://members.lycos.nl/carrejans/temp/svt6550.gif

Well I have built exactly one guitar amp but since no one else is stepping up let me see if I can help at all.