Tube system for classical audio - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 23rd April 2009, 05:31 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Tube system for classical audio

Hey everyone, just want to get some reccomendations. I'm new to tube amps, but I was considering using them for a music system I'm putting together for a piano teacher. In his words "I ONLY listen to mahler Symphonies, Beethoven Quartets, operas, and the like. No other music, ever...sorry very rascist! Therefore, my sound is more ROUND and brilliant, but not strident.
I need a sound equipment of small dimensions, perhaps around 800 dollars." If an LP player can be fit into the price, he'd also like that.

Anyway, I've done a little reading and was thinking of putting together one of the kits from S-5, they're local to me (Phoenix AZ) so I might be able to get one pretty quickly. I've read good things about them, and as I've never built an amp before I'd rather start with a kit then with schematics. I've got access to a circuits lab at the uni, so I'll have a good scope to work with and the like. What's everyones thoughts on this? Also, what are some good speaker reccomendations to go with a tube amp? I'm also open to solid-state, if you all think that would be more suited to his tastes... I'll defer to the experts on that haha.

Thanks!
Old 23rd April 2009, 09:26 PM   #2
dubdub is offline dubdub  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

''I ONLY listen to mahler Symphonies, Beethoven Quartets, operas, and the like. No other music, ever...sorry very rascist! ''

...so this paino teacher is... a rascist (sic)? fine if you dont like other music but ...?
Old 23rd April 2009, 09:38 PM   #3