• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Graaf GM20 mods - help!

Evening all - I'm afraid I'm a newbie...

I have a pair of Graafs GM20's (schematic via link) but the constant tweeking of bias and offset is driving me mad!

https://cid-a332bc3aefc89f6b.skydrive.live.com/self.aspx/Public/GM20 schematic.pdf

Is there a way of adding an auto bias circuit?

Also, can anyone suggest any tweeks / improvements? I've scoured the net but nothing forthcoming.

Ahh, can I reduce the gain / adapt the present circuit to suit a higher input voltage without using a pot and thus destroying the dynamics? I'm using a Weiss Medea DAC with +27dBu via XLR's....

Thanks guys :)

Luke said:
Is there any room in these to mod? They seem to have done a great job packing it all in.

Well spotted - there's a little room and I can always extend the base downwards. (I'm also happy to construct a third box if necessary, or maybe two full width units, one for the power supplies, the other for the tubes etc)

I'm toying with the idea of a passive line level crossover using one amp for each channel but until I can get the amps running in a consistent and stable manner it's pointless... :(

BTW Thanks for the interest, TENT module noted, email sent.... Cheers!

Koifarm said:
There is a voltage divider at the input. R3/R5 and R2/R4 you can change value's to get other input voltage.

Ronny

From Graaf....