diyAudio

diyAudio (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/)
-   Tubes / Valves (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/tubes-valves/)
-   -   Bass amp from spare parts (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/tubes-valves/142041-bass-amp-spare-parts.html)

Chaos5522 9th April 2009 08:29 PM

Bass amp from spare parts

Well first off, I'm really very new to the whole DIY amp thing, and I've been told I have enough knowledge to be dangerous.

Recently, my dad was cleaning out his basment, and he found an old Webcor reel-to-reel, a HAM radio reciever, and a CB set that he was going to get rid of. Being unemployed at the moment, I have a bunch of time on my hands. So I snagged those and started doing some research.

From the components I pulled out, I came up with a 12AX7A, a 7025, and a 6UE7 (which according to my searches at nj7p.org all have the same characteristics). I also got a 6X5GT rectifier, 2 6V6GTs and a 6AQ5A. And of course the power and output transformers from each, which I am going to have to get a multimeter to test as none of them have manufacturers listed and it's not that easy to find information based on the numbers on the sides of them.

So, looking at various amp schematics to find something with a similar tube configuration, I came across the Fender Bassman 20. It has one 7025 in the preamp and another one feeding 2 6V6s in push-pull.

Now, being that this is my first attempt at anything like this...it would make a lot of sense to just try and recreate the Bassman 20 circuit and deal with the 18w it's supposed to produce.

Unfortunately, I've always had a bit of a mad scientist streak. (I blame my dad's family). So what I'm looking to do is add in another 7025/12AX7 gain stage, use my tube rectifier instead of the SS one in the schematic, and convert the power stage from 2 6V6s in PP to the 6AQ5A in SE class A into the 6V6s in PP class B. Plus I'd like to add an effects loop so I can use this 31band EQ i've had sitting around since my church upgraded their PA.