• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Schottky diode bias

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
due to a break of 30 years from valve amps i have not kept up with the modern uses of bits.
i have always liked the idea of Schottky diodes (fast and clean) and i have heard that now days they are used to bias sometimes. so i have 2 questions.

1. how?

2.which ones ( diode numbers)?

Any potential advantages Shottkys may have in switching are lost if used for biasing. As the forward voltage drop is less than other diodes you can probably get more accurate bias voltages by stacking them. In any case i have no first hand experience and see no obvious advantages. As for rectification, didn't like them much.

yes it seems that they haven't changed much .....shame
they did look like they could be the next big thing back then .
I just thought I'd ask as I had seen bits on the internet but not enough to see how they would work any better .
so its back to the search for the ultimate IR type or what ever . thanks!

pointy said:
is that a yes...................................?

Maybe nobody's replying because this has been discussed ad nauseam on this forum and it is also spelled out in Morgan Jones' book, so you're obviously not looking very hard if at all. The answer is cheap red LED's are best, both for cathode bias and CCS's, and if they don't get you the bias voltage you need, you can move to different colours or stack small signal diodes.

Within type, it's actually rather consistent. That's why I'll carry a battery, resistor, and voltmeter with me when rooting though surplus bins. If one LED is (say) 1.9V, all the others in the bin will be within 20mV or so of that value.