• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

845 - Progress so far

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all,

I have been working on my new 845 amp for about 6 months now

This one is taking a lot longer than expected!!

I have posted lots of questions here, some of them not so clever, but I would not have been able to get this far without the help of everyone, so thanks to all who have helped me thus far.

I thought that I would post a couple of progress photos to show where I am at.

The chassis has been completed (finished in aged copper and pewter) and I have basically completed all of the boards - they just need to be put in the chassis and hooked up.

This amp is huge!! there is a 'mini' second story to house all the chokes. This sits on a top plate that covers the plate that you can see in the picture. I did not include a picture of these as I will post when the amp is completed.

The ceramic insulating spacers were cut out of bathroom tiles and the 845 sockets will mount under these.

I think I should have it finished within a couple of months and will post again with a follow up when I have complected the wiring.

Thanks for he help so far.

Cheers,

Rob

Attachments

• top.jpg
    top.jpg
    83.2 KB · Views: 1,073
rdf said:
What's the story on the chassis? Very slick.

The chassis was designed for this amp.

In short, I make it as a cardboard 'mock-up' and then I use a local metal shop to have it made up in aluminum. The guy that I use curses every time that he sees me - he claims that he hates making them as the measurements have to be precise but after a lot of whinging and moaning he eventually turns out good work.