• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

A few questions from a total novice.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi, i am a total novice with regards to building amps and i was hoping to get some advice here for a project i am interested in doing.

Bascially my idea is as follows. I'd like to make a low-medium power, single channel guitar amp based on the Vox EF86 preamp channel, with one or two EL84's for the output stage. As i understand it single ended designs are somewhat simpler to build than push pull, so i would probably go down down that route.

Here is what i am looking for in terms of controls. Master volume, some kind of simple blilliance control (either a pot or a 2 position switch for flat/bright), pentode/triode selector switch for the EF86 and a simple switch to lower the gain on the input jack (-6db or so).

Can anyone advise me on how difficult this kind of setup would be? Being a total novice i will obviously need help with a layout and some step by step guidance for the build. But if i can find someone to help me with these things, would the project be do-able or would it still be far too complicated for someone like myself?

I have good woodworking skills from building guitars for a number of years, so the cabinet etc.. will be no problem for me. I am reasonably handy with a soldering iron too, but my experience only goes as far as guitar/bass wiring.

Thanks in advance for any help! (and apologies if my question is too vague/naive)

bonescan said: