Quad II build for guitar - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 17th March 2009, 05:27 PM   #1
SSalem is offline SSalem  Philippines
diyAudio Member

Default Quad II build for guitar

Hi everyone, I'm very new to the diy audio scene, and I'm thinking about building a Quad II. Has anyone done this?

I found a schematic online: http://www.dc-daylight.ltd.uk/Valve-...cs/QUAD-II.pdf

Does that look accurate?

And my final question, Would this be a good choice to use for a guitar, as a standalone amp? if not, I'd probably still build it for the purpose of listening to music and build another amp for my guitar.

Thanks.
Old 17th March 2009, 05:48 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

If you are new to 'building from scratch', a low power tube amp for your guitar would be the place to start- lots of simple designs for tube guitar amps are out there, tried and true. You can build from a kit or from scratch with used parts, or....
And guitar amps are mono, so half the parts count - more or less.

Guitar amp (and guitar speaker)-not hifi- for guitar.

If necessary, you can listen to music (mono) through the guitar amp, but guitar through a hifi sounds terrible.

When you move to the hifi amp build- something low-power will be cheaper than the Quad and sound as good/better with the right speakers.

Welcome to diy!

John
Old 17th March 2009, 07:23 PM   #3
poynton is offline poynton  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Location: A life on the ocean waves when I'm not at home in N. Wales (but I'm not Welsh so no sheep jokes!)
Default Re: Quad II build for guitar

Quote:
Originally posted by SSalem