• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

recommended a tube amp for Celestron Studio Ditton 66's

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
can anyone here recommended a tube amp for Celestron Studio Ditton 66's
I am new to tubes but am an audio engineer and would like something that will be sonically matched as well as possible.
Is e-bay a good place?
what brands, how much, how much work to keep running and anything else I should know would be appreciated.
thanks in advance and I hope to be vary active soon as right now I am in school for electrician and it is keeping me busy.:D

Joined 2008
Re: mcintosh 2120?

The G.O.A.T.145 said:
Is it ant good and what is it worth? Foe powering a pair of Celestion Ditton 66 Studio Monitors
thanks

Hi G.O.A.T.145,
it very much depends on your budget.
As line of guide I would stay on a minimum of 12-15W as I remember (from my past Ditton 33 experience) this line of speakers were a bit power hungry.
You can get that power from an EL84 PP run in ultralinear mode. This is by far the most common solution and if well made can give great satisfaction.

If you want to start from a bigger platform for experimentation, you can consider a parallel push-pull. Here you can go for pentode, ultralinear and triode connection and having a potential range from 10 to 35 watts and a lot of solutions for the front-end stages (given the modest requirements of the EL84's in comparison to most power tubes).

Administrator
Joined 2004
Paid Member