• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Dynaco st-70

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Bear with me as I have little knowledge of tube amplifiers and would like to get my feet wet SLOWLY as I learn.

I have a Dynaco st-70 (the first one) that was handed down by dad. I believe he purchased it new in the late'60's. I'm aware that there are some common parts that people replace on these to improve their accuracy/output. I've also read that if the amp is causing a hum in the speaker that parts need to be replaced as well. Mine hums. At a glance it looks like most of the work that needs to be done would be plug-in or solder type and I'm hoping that I can at least handle that part.

The trouble is that different resources recommend different parts and I'm unsure of which to use. For example some tout a particular tube as being the end-all be-all replacement, while others insist that a different brand is the one to go with. One guy says use orange drops (whatever those are) and another insists that brand Y are the ones to use. I've also seen "ugrade" kits that give you all the typical problem parts to replace and you supply the labor.

I don't mind piecing something together if the end result will be better than the available kits. What I need is some guidance about the choices available and probably a little help when I get down to doing the work. I'd prefer to keep cost low if possible.

Any ideas?

At a minimum, replace the electrolytic capacitors. And replace the selenium rectifier in the bias supply. Good luck finding 7199s.