• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Socket for 6AQ5

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all,

I'm new to tubes/valves and am in the process of collecting all the bits to build a Moebius line stage using 6AQ5's.

I see a current thread where a guy had trouble with his octal sockets, so I thought I'd ask - how do I identify the correct sockets for the 6AQ5? I know them as seven pin miniature sockets, but I've variously seen them described as B7G, and on the GE datasheet, E7-1.

Can you help?

Cheers

Stuey

Geez Douglas, I'm not QUITE that thick! ;)

Yes, I know the octal has eight pins. I was just referring to another thread where the poster got sockets that his valves wouldn't fit, and I don't want to end up in that situation. Given that much of my stuff comes from o/seas.

I know also that it's a small seven pin socket that I need...

Can I put it another way? Is there more than one type of 'small seven pin' socket configuration?

Cheers for the info.

Stuey

Administrator
Joined 2004
Paid Member
Hi Stuey,
It's just a simple 7-pin tube socket. You need to specify whether you want PCB mount or chassis mount. Some chassis sockets may come with supports or hold downs. I have even seen shielded 7-pin sockets. Some PCB sockets may have different circumference for the pins, but that should be about it.

Note too that sockets may be phenolic, mica filled molded, ceramic or molded. The ceramic ones can deal with heat better, but many tube radios used phenolic sockets.

On to contacts. Forget gold plated, that disappears quickly. Cadmium plated (I think) were standard and preferred. Someone may even come out with a nickel or brass type.