• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

SR-101 Pioneer Spring Reverb

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Okay - so I bought this thing on eBay listed as broken for $10 + $15 shipping from this really really nice guy - he sent me a broken Altec 1589B preamp with it for free without even telling me about it!

I'm a beginner in audio electronics, I have built a number of pedals and hundreds of low voltage circuitry of all sorts. I decided I want to build a tube amp in the near future, and then I found the Sr-101 on eBay - it seemed like a perfect thing to get. Cheap, introduction to tube electronics, 60's vintage effect!!!, and it's been noted for a great reverb, and amazing tube sound with reverb bypassed.

Annnyways. I got it, and obsessed over it for a day - first thing I noticed was a broken connection to one of the reverb tanks. I fixed it immediately. Then I tried it out - the reverb didnt seem to work on either channel. So I took it apart and spent a day or so checking internal connections, analyzing the schematic, etc. Then I realized that the schematic I found online has one huge difference from the one in the manual for the SR-101.

Since it is a stereo reverb unit for stereo systems, it is meant to be hooked up with a L/R input, going to L/R outputs. Wellll, apparently they decided to make it so the reverb sound from ONE input mixes with the OTHER signals clean output, and the reverb from the OTHER signal goes to the FIRST channel clean output. So it was working perfectly all along. And I wasted an entire day to realize it XD