• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Strange S5 K-16LS oscilloscope readings

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I put my newly built S5 K-16LS kit amp on my oscilloscope today and ran some signals through it using my computer (no function generator available) and got a strange output at the relatively lower frequencies.

This is the 1khz input signal:

IMG_0733.jpg

And this is the output:

IMG_0734.jpg

Closer:

IMG_0735.jpg

I'm not sure whats going on, it seems like a vibration within the sine wave or something. I'm no expert on signal analysis or anything but if anyone has a clue whats going on could they offer some insight?

It appears to be some kind of oscillation/HF instability,it's kind of odd that it only affects one half of the waveform/one conduction cycle-you can see it starts just below zero-crossing,and continues about 3/4 up the positive going peak...
Maybe one tube is unstable..or the grid-stopper resistor needs to be inspected/replaced/added (I dunno if this amp has stoppers or not?) or perhaps some kind of compensation/NFB issue.

Just a couple tired thoughts.. :sleep:

I've had various oscillation problems with my k-502 which is similar to the k-16LS. Though, I have never seen it look quite like that from oscillation. 1st make sure that your speaker terminals aren't slightly shorting to the chassis. If you are using the supplied terminals installed on a conductive chassis, this could very well be the case. If you can actually see the wave fluttering, that's what it looks like when an output tube starts to draw excessive grid current before the grid even goes positive.