preamp kit? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 21st December 2008, 01:36 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default preamp kit?

Hi guys. I've been building speakers for a few years and now I am wandering if I can build a nice preamp. I would like to start with a kit that requires minimum tools. Possibly a tube kit (for esthetic's reasons). Any suggestions? I am capable of some metalwork and an expert in woodworking.
Thanks.
Old 21st December 2008, 01:39 PM   #2
AndrewT is offline AndrewT  Scotland
diyAudio Member

foreplay
Old 21st December 2008, 01:53 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Check thru the Aikido threads. Its an easy line stage to build and it offers superior performance over most kits.

http://glass-ware.stores.yahoo.net/newhardware.html
Old 21st December 2008, 02:21 PM   #4
AndrewT is offline AndrewT  Scotland
diyAudio Member

found it
http://www.bottlehead.com/et/adobesp..._stage_kit.htm
Old 21st December 2008, 02:22 PM   #5
diyAudio Member

Not so fast, if you please! The power amp and source(s) that will be used impact GREATLY on the choice being made. If a power amp that requires less than 2 V. of drive to reach full power O/P is used in combination with a CDP, the very last thing needed is the gain both a Foreplay and an Aikido provide.

Mr. Carpenter, please tell us what sort of equipment you are going to use in combination with the line stage. Only then, can a good recommendation be made.

BTW, which section of Brooklyn is home? FWIW, I originate from East Flatbush.
Old 21st December 2008, 02:28 PM   #6
diyAudio Member

I am in Brooklyn Navy Yard.