Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 19th December 2008, 12:32 AM   #1
tmhajw is offline tmhajw  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Default capacitors in series- what value balancing resistors?

Hi There
I'm a bit of a newbie so apologies now if this is a dumb question.
I've put 2 capacitors in series to increase their voltage capability. They are 20uF 400v pio. (I'm building a Berman 76/6sn7 pre and these are going to decouple, one lot of 2 per channel) They will see 405v. What value balancing resistors across each capacitor should I use to equalise voltages? I have already wired them up. One channel the voltages are fairly evenly spread (240v and 160v) the other channel one is 330v and 70v!
Thanks in advance
Thomas
Old 19th December 2008, 01:12 AM   #2
KBK is offline KBK  Canada
diyAudio Member

This suggests severe internal impedance issues, and I would suggest trying to arrange the capacitors again, to see if one of them has an internal impedance issue,as your situation suggests rather strongly.

In the two that are not balancing properly, label them 1 and 2, and then try them with the other two caps separately.

You may get a better balance that way, but I doubt it.

The situation is saying that you need at least one new cap, as at least one of them is considerably different than the other three.

After the caps balance out the voltages in a near perfect fashion on their own, then you can begin to look into any resistive loading/balancing. The big issue is dynamic and surge (power up) voltage levels and distribution, but getting a solid voltage balance between series run caps is critical from the get-go.