Found An Old Transformer, Now What??? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 15th December 2008, 04:36 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Found An Old Transformer, Now What???

:bawlingsmash:
SAY I FIND AN OLD AUDIO TRANSFORMER ON EBAY, HOW HARD WOULD IT BE TO FIND A SCHEMATIC TO WORK AROUND THE TRANSFORMER?
I KNOW THIS IS A TOTALLY OUT THERE QUESTION, BUT I AM A TOTAL NEWB.

I WANT TO MAKE A SIMPLE BUT DECENT AMP, AND I DONT HAVE A LOT OF CASH.
I AM THINKING IT CANT BE AS SIMPLE AS THAT, BUT I DONT UNDERSTAND THE INS AND OUTS OF AMP DESIGN,

I HAVE NOTICED SOME SIMILARITIES IN HEATER VOLTAGES FROM A FEW DIFFERENT PLANS AND PLATE VOLTAGES ALSO,

SO THERE YA HAVE IT...JUST BE NICE, ITS MY FIRST POST...
Old 15th December 2008, 04:55 AM   #2
kevinkr is offline kevinkr  United States
diyAudio Moderator

Buy a kit, not some unknown transformer off of eBay.. Here is just one possibility which seems to be quite popular with Newbs here: http://www.s5electronics.com/ltube.html

I would probably go for the smaller stereo amplifier - 8LS http://www.s5electronics.com/l8stereo.html

These kits provide instructions and all of the parts required to build a working amplifier, and it will work when you are done provided you assemble it correctly.

Another excellent option would be tubelabs Simple SE amplifier, widely discussed here, if budget is a concern you can purchase just a few parts at a time easing the financial stress of getting into tube audio. Many rank beginners have completed these successfully. Link here: http://www.tubelab.com/