• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

building S5 k-amp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I want to build an S5 Electronics k-amp, but they seem to have phased out the k-12 and k-502 that got great reviews, and replaced them with the k-8 and k-16 that get bad reviews. I do not want to spend a great deal of time trying to improve a subpar amp and I am a total novice anyway. Can I still get the k-12 or k-502 from elsewhere? Are there known modifications to improve the k-8 or k-16? Should I be looking at another supplier as well?

Thanks!

Well, as nobody has responded yet, I skipped around the net and found schematics for both old and new... pretty much identical circuitry. It's a simple topology, actually quite similar to the old Dyna ST35 but with lesser tubes.

The new amps are the L series. From an initial scan, these would appear to be better... they use 6005 output pentodes, which are rugged versions of the 6AQ5 which has been used in audio amps forever. The 5670 is also a rugged JAN spec twin-triode. The S5 site shows replacement tubes very reasonably priced and images are JAN spec versions. These are certainly aimed more towards audio than the 11MS8 which was designed for series string filament usage in small TV sets for vertical oscillator and deflection amplifier usage.

I've also seen the site which had nothing good to say about them... frequency response looks poor and power bandwidth non-existant. I would suspect the output transformers are the cause... they're very tiny, and won't go very low... even 100Hz could be a challenge, expecting to see much at 25Hz is more of a dream. Chances are they have high DC resistance and very low inductance.