• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

EL84 max power for HiFi Amp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi, i am a newbie here and i guess this must be another boring question again. I would like build to start first my first tube amp, i have done many transistor and ic amps before. I would like to start from scratch! Later i will built a phono stage to intergrate with it. I don't know why but i would like my amp with built in phono stage.

I would like to build using a pair of EL84, pentode mode, fix bias, 43% ultraliner connection. I need the maximum wattage i can squeeze from a pair of them with decent hifi quality sound(Asuming i use generally available el84 tubes, no special tubes involved) Here are my questions,

1) What is the max wattage i am looking at at?

2) What is the best max voltage that i can applied to the CT of output transformer, can i safely say it to be the plate voltage? I need the tube to last for quite some time also.

3) What are the specifications of output transformer that
i need to buy?

4) Any circuit ideas or schematic i can start of with.

Thanks in advance.

Administrator
Joined 2004
Paid Member
hoyhoysum said:
Hi, i am a newbie here and i guess this must be another boring question again. I would like build to start first my first tube amp, i have done many transistor and ic amps before. I would like to start from scratch! Later i will built a phono stage to intergrate with it. I don't know why but i would like my amp with built in phono stage.