VR150 use - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 13th October 2008, 03:56 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default VR150 use

Hi all,

Quick ?,

I am rebuilding my RH84 (EL84 Pentode SE) and am considering regulating G2.
I have never used Gas tubes before, only zeners but have a VR150. So, I am thinking about the VR150 and was wondering if there would be a problem using it with SS rectification for the B+.
I have been doing some reading on them but never saw mention of this.

IOW, is there an issue with the gas tubes being "hit" suddenly with voltage?
I considered this since the gas tubes are from an era before SS. I did read somewhere that they do not like being turned on and off and on again quickly.

Thanks.
Old 13th October 2008, 04:03 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

No, no problem. Make sure the dropping resistor can take the initial surge - it could be several times the normal dissipation, depending on supply voltage and loading. A VR tube works much like a Zener, but you shouldn't bypass it with more than .047 uF or so - it may oscillate.
Old 13th October 2008, 04:18 PM   #3
kevinkr is offline kevinkr  United States
diyAudio Moderator

I use VR150 to regulate the solid state rectified bias supply in my 300B SE amplifier. (I want the supply bias to come up almost instantly. No problems in 4 yrs.)