• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Sun Audio SV-2A3

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Dear All,

I am a beginner trying to diy a sun audio sv-2a3 amp. But i have some questions about the transformers. I do not intend to make a purchase of the originals, they would cost me a bomb =/ any advice? My plan now is to get the ratings and look for cheaper alternatives!

SPT150 power/main transformer: what is the VA rating?

SCH515 choke: I understand the significance of the choke, but how do i select one?? i can't seem to find any information on this choke =/

output transformers i have found. Not top notch, but i believe will do the job =)

My output transformers:

http://singapore.rs-online.com/web/search/searchBrowseAction.html?method=getProduct&R=2106475

The schematics for SV-2A3:

http://www.ys-audio.com/wce/sunaudiosv2a3.JPG

What are the items within the dotted lines? There is one labeled N.L. a RC filter. but without ratings...and the capacitors tied to the choke, are they implied to be optional? why the dotted line huh?

I look forward to receiving the enlightenment from anyone in this esteemed forum on this subject. :D

Best regards,
Ming Yang

Hello Ming Yang,

SPT150 power/main transformer: what is the VA rating?

This will depend on whether you power 2 channels or only 1. Since a 2A3 can run at 60mA maxium, you will want at least a 75mA current rating for one channel. Twice that for two channels on the same transformer. This is figuring 10mA more for the 6SN7.

SCH515 choke: I understand the significance of the choke, but how do i select one?? i can't seem to find any information on this choke =/