• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Thoughts on horizontal sweep tubes?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
DaveCan said:
Who's Mr.Fourier? I'm not a amp designer or know how to read a schematic etc, so if I appear diytube amp dumb, it's because I am:D
Dave:)

I don't mean schematics that I could not find on the site; I meant his explanations why tubes sound better than transistors. :clown:

Edit: also I like his "With cathode biased amplifiers the speed and rise times are much slower" :D

Ok thanks:) I just thought I'd check and see if people may like the design, or have heard it and maybe agree with the review on the amp etc.. The replacement tubes are kind of pricey, but not as bad as some I've seen... I guess my only quip is only having a one year warranty, it would be nice to see that increased by a lot imo.. Dave:)

DaveCan said:
Ok thanks:) I just thought I'd check and see if people may like the design, or have heard it and maybe agree with the review on the amp etc.. The replacement tubes are kind of pricey, but not as bad as some I've seen... I guess my only quip is only having a one year warranty, it would be nice to see that increased by a lot imo.. Dave:)

Heh... Replacement output tubes for my 200W amp go for $2.14 per pair, see AES sale thread. :clown:
"I wish such forces to be applied in peaceful directions" -- one more Russian saying. :D

I like this one:

"Yes - tube manufacture is not critical to performance due to the circuit design. My only comment would be that some Sylvania sweep tubes have been unstable".