• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

6ak5/5654 plate resistance

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am a noob trying to put synthesize various things that I have read concerning the 6ak5/5654 pentode and DIY amps. I remember (1) reading that 6ak5s make a nice sounding triode ; (2) an article on "Screwing Around with Load Lines" by someone in SE Asia; and (3) an article in Audioxpress about using a 6j10 compactron as an output tube.

What I want to do is use the 6ak5 as the driver for the audio part of a 6AL11 compactron (which I think is identical to the 6J10).

The "Load Lines" article says that the triode must be loaded several times the plate load of the tube. As a pentode, the 6ak5 has a plate resistance of .34 megohms.

When it is triode strapped, does the plate load drop precipitously? Any ideas on how to use a triode strapped 6ak5 as a driver tube?

Thanks in advance for any assistance you can offer.

I have seen the curves linked above, but I don't know how to use them to define a load for the plate. This is the link to the article that I am trying to follow--

http://www.diyparadise.com/tubeloadline/tubeloadlines.html

According to this article, you start with the power supply on the x axis and then find a point on the y axis that is calculated, in part, by using the plate load.

Thanks for those who responded. I appreciate you sharing your expertise.

Well, basically you take the graphed characteristics in trode mode nad play around on them with a ruler.