Questions about tweaking the Miniblok SET... - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 6th August 2008, 03:49 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Questions about tweaking the Miniblok SET...

I recently completed the Fred Nachbaur Miniblok SET. Actually a pair of monoblock Minibloks, yuk yuk! Maybe not the greatest amp to build, but it fit my criteria of being reasonably uncomplicated and cheap to build. And although I've owned tube gear for many years, I'm a relative beginner at building with tubes. So I also wanted the experience.

I used new, not used or NOS, bargain resistors and caps. All values used are correct, but I suppose quality could be suspect. I used Radio Shack power transformers of the specified values. Edcor OPTs. All my voltages are correct per the checklist. The amp played with no problems from the start.

I bought some NOS Raytheon 13EM7s, and later some NOS GE, but with a coin type base. Can't really tell a great difference in sound when changing tubes. Maybe the quality of parts used elsewhere prevents me from hearing any difference here???? Or maybe there is no difference to be heard.

My question is that although I'm hearing a nice soundstage with great imaging when listening through my Signets, I have to say I'm very disappointed with the SQ. Knowing that the speakers are capable of some extremely good SQ, I'm wondering if I can make parts changes in the circuitry that will improve this at all. My amps are constructed to easily allow such changes.

Any suggestions and/or help is much appreciated.

Here's the circuit;

http://www.dogstar.dantimax.dk/tubestuf/miniblk2.htm

Cheers, Greg
Old 6th August 2008, 04:16 PM   #2