LED cathode biasing in push-pull input stage - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 31st July 2008, 09:36 PM   #1
exeric is offline exeric  United States
diyAudio Member

Default led cathode biasing in push-pull input stage

I'm a newbie around here but have experience in electronics. Like most people I have significant gaps in that knowledge though. I have 3 related questions.

1. I want to create a balanced push-pull input stage so I don't have to deal with unequal output impedances from a single tube. The other reason I'm going that route is that its an easy way to create a constant current draw to that stage. Since I'm using a transformer attenuator as volume control to drive them there's no worries for a balanced grid drive. I plan on using leds to bias each 5842 cathode and a single IXSY CCS supplying both plates.

My question is this: tubes are never exactly equal in current draw or mu and its also possible for each 5842 tube to age differently. What's the best way to handle this. I'm thinking a small value pot with one leg for each cathode but it seems like it defeats the purpose of using leds. Any ideas out there?

2. An informal line stage standard output seems to be 2 V rms which equals 5.8 V P-P. Yet I keep seeing threads here where individuals are using leds that don't equate to this standard. It seems to me that 2 leds approximating 3 volts is the way to go. Will that work for the 5842 tube or is it over biasing it? It seems like its a good idea to have some margin for transient peaks right at the input of amplification.