Purity and simplicity of amp design - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 25th July 2008, 05:28 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Purity and simplicity of amp design

I have been dreaming about tube amps for more then 10 years but never owned one until this year. My original idea was to build my first amp using a simple recipe. I liked the Decware SE84C and was planning to build it. I started sourcing parts last December and was looking at speaker options, speaker cables and interconnects options and diy audio stuff.
Soon, I now had projects to build the amp, the speakers, voltage regulator and all the cables. Too many projects, too little time.
I knew I would not be able to build it all and have the time to enjoy music before 2012.
In an attempt to accelerate the process, I decided to purchase the 1st amp, a simple source and the speakers for my speaker project. So I ordered the Decware Taboo amp, an Oppo DV-980H SACD player and 2 Fostex FE207E drivers.
I am now listening to music with my FE207E drivers installed in Rubbermaid bins. There is very little bass, but the mids and high are much, much better then what I was able to produce with my original Sima PW3000 and Paradigm 5Se speakers.
I have been working since December on the final cabinets for the Fostex drivers. The only time I have available to work on this is usually on Saturdays. The Cabinets are huge I am building a non-folded BLH that should go to about 30Hz. 54" high, 50" deep, 12" wide I hope to be finished in the next 2-3 weeks.
I will post pictures Hope I like the sound ... after the tuning of the compression chamber that is.

And that's not all ...