• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Tube Amp Kit for newbie

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello-- I hope this is the right forum area. I am fairly new to electronics, but I am getting pretty good at building kits and soldering, etc. I would like to find a decent, fairly inexpensive stereo tube amp kit that I would be proud to actually listen to music on. (I listen to a lot of pop, underground, and experimental music, so I would like something that can handle all kind of music well. I tried to do an internet search, but there is just too much out there to know where to begin.

I would appreciate any suggestions.

Best,
Peter

what's your budget? Also try the search engine on this site. Type "Kit", be sure to limit the search to the tube forum and search titles only at first.

The K-12 or k-502 is about as cheap as they come. It does not include an enclosure, but there are plenty of enclosure options available. One of my amps is the K-502 and it sounds good when paired with the right speakers.

starro said:
Hello-- I hope this is the right forum area. I am fairly new to electronics, but I am getting pretty good at building kits and soldering, etc. I would like to find a decent, fairly inexpensive stereo tube amp kit that I would be proud to actually listen to music on. (I listen to a lot of pop, underground, and experimental music, so I would like something that can handle all kind of music well. I tried to do an internet search, but there is just too much out there to know where to begin.

I would appreciate any suggestions.

Best,
Peter

Peter,