Tube Amp Kit for newbie - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 12th July 2008, 09:21 PM   #1
starro is offline starro  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Tube Amp Kit for newbie

Hello-- I hope this is the right forum area. I am fairly new to electronics, but I am getting pretty good at building kits and soldering, etc. I would like to find a decent, fairly inexpensive stereo tube amp kit that I would be proud to actually listen to music on. (I listen to a lot of pop, underground, and experimental music, so I would like something that can handle all kind of music well. I tried to do an internet search, but there is just too much out there to know where to begin.

I would appreciate any suggestions.

Best,
Peter
Old 12th July 2008, 09:36 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

I'm in exactly the same position as you, I just built a chip amp and quite like it, but am curious to see what the tube guys are raving about.....

this thread has lots of ideas in it.....

cheers

Lee
Old 12th July 2008, 09:37 PM   #3
Jeb-D. is offline Jeb-D.  United States
diyAudio Member

what's your budget? Also try the search engine on this site. Type "Kit", be sure to limit the search to the tube forum and search titles only at first.

The K-12 or k-502 is about as cheap as they come. It does not include an enclosure, but there are plenty of enclosure options available. One of my amps is the K-502 and it sounds good when paired with the right speakers.
Old 12th July 2008, 09:41 PM   #4
mikje is offline mikje  United States
Soakin' up the Sound!
diyAudio Member

Check this site.
http://www.s5electronics.com/thome.html
Old 12th July 2008, 11:46 PM   #5