• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Tagboard amps

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi Guys
Im a newbie to this forum (and electronics in general ,so forgive my ignorance), and i was wondering: does anybody know much about how to assemble components on a tagboard. Im lead to believe there is some kinda special tool used. Also, is any soldering involved in the process (other than earthing) thanks for your posts in advance!

First, everything must be clean. NOS parts are often in
need of good cleaning, solder often does not stick well
to deeply tarnished metal.

Don't rely on solder alone for the mechanical connection.
Be sure to bend the lead in some way that binds securely.
This also frees your hand from holding the part, that you
might better control the iron and the solder.

Apply tacky rosin flux to the joint, don't rely on the solder
core to contain enough flux. Never use corrosive flux.

The iron should be slightly shiny wet (tinned) with solder.
I prefer a brass chore boy cleaning pad more than a wet
sponge for cleaning off any excess.....

Touch the tag and the component lead simultaneously.
When you estimate them to be hot, apply the solder to
the joint from the opposie side. The solder should flow
through the joint toward the hot iron.

If you get too much solder, you can draw it away with
solder wick. The trick to getting wick to work far better
than a "solder sucker" is apply a lot of flux to the wick
first.

You can never have too much flux if its the right stuff.
It must not be corrosive, yet must still clean up easily
with only hot water and a toothbrush.

Clean wet parts should never be powered while wet.