• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

JFET Switching on my tube amp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Not sure if this is quite the right forum, but I'll give it a try anyways.

I built a guitar amp that uses JFETs for switching. This is my first time trying them, I used vactrols LDRs before. When I built it all on the breadboard it works fine as well, however in circuit, no such luck.

The switching driver circuit works fine, but the JFETS are not doing there job. I was very careful not to overheat them when soldering, using a heat sink clip. I read that JFETS don't have source/sink polarity so I just have them arbitrarily in one direction.

I am using the Fairchild KSK30YTA here is the datasheet http://www.fairchildsemi.com/ds/KS/KSK30.pdf

any ideas?

thanks
d1

And here is the schemo for the switching circuit.

Attachments

• geetar switch circuit.jpg
    geetar switch circuit.jpg
    20.8 KB · Views: 552
Administrator
Joined 2007
Paid Member
Hi,
This shows a 2SK152 in a similar arrangement to yours. The FET becomes "shorted" i.e. at it's lowest resistance when the gate is made slightly positive with respect to the source. 0.3 Volts is about as high as you can go, above that and the gate will start to conduct like a forward biased diode. This slight positive bias helps reduce the on resistance instead of leaving the gate at zero volts. To cut the FET off, i.e. make it go open circuit the gate is brought negative with respect to the source ( for these N Channel types ), the data sheet says -5 as a maximum for these. The 2SK152 are rated 15V gate/source but are only 15 volt D/S devices.