idiot needs help making sense of funny squigles - Filmosound - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 21st May 2008, 11:59 AM   #1
atmars is offline atmars  United States
diyAudio Member

Default idiot needs help making sense of funny squigles - Filmosound

I am somewhat new to tube amps, so any help would be appreciated.

I got a hold of a transformerless Filmosound amplifier and I don't have enough skill and knowledge to get a handle on how the circuit works (link at bottom - works I hope). I've gotten it up and running as a guitar amp and sounds quite good considering I haven't done much in the way of tweaking and I know the filter caps are in need of replacement.

So I have few questions before I go forward.

1. Safety. I got an isolation transformer for this thing so as to not get killed. I am about to add a three prong plug to the chassis. Will this cause any problems I am not anticipating? Also, the switch seems to cut both the hot and neutral sides of the mains. Does this make the amp a floating chassis as opposed to a hot chassis?

2. Before I start to replace parts, i would like to know what parts of the circuit can be discarded, but I don't know enough about amplification circuits to make heads or tails of a lot of this. So far i have removed the old three prong input and the photo tube. All good. However removing the adjacent small tube #2 (5873?) kills the circuit. I am under the impression this section of the circuit is largely superfluous? Any ideas on how to remove what is not needed?