• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Basic measurement question re: shorts

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm a beginner and I've been doing my best to learn some stuff. I've read a couple of tube books. I've read about tube safety. However, there is something I'm missing (I feel stupid, but it confused my neighbor as well and he's an engineer). I was confused about my variac earlier yesterday. When I use my DMM to check for AC between the chassis and the earth on an outlet (before connecting a safety ground), I get 50V and my AC tester screams. I thought I had a weird short in the variac and my neighbor thought so as well. Then, I measured 128V between the PA amp and ground. I pull out my old Scott, and sure enough, I test 50V on it to earth ground. I suppose it makes sense, as the chassis is neutral. Somehow though, I'm not grasping how current doesn't run through one's body to the ground. Also, is their a good way to test for a live chassis, or if the fuse doesn't blow do you just assume you are fine? Obviously I've failed to grasp some basic concept.

pj

pjanda1 said: