• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

S-5 16LS tube amp use with 8 ohm speakers

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi everyone - I am new to tube amps.

I have come to own a S-5 16LS tube amp which has a speaker impedance of 4 ohms.

All of my previous experience is based on new solid state devices with 8 ohm impedance (or are smart enough to compensate). I suspect that tube amps are less forgiving.

From a practical perspective what do I need to do or worry about to use this 4 ohm tube amp with my 8 ohm speakers? Should I use 2 sets of 8 ohm speakers (parallel arrangement) to match the 4 ohms? Or, 4 ohm amp into 8 ohm speakers will just mean degraded performance.....? Just want to understand how the tube world works in this situation.

I do understand ohms law and the basics of electronics. E=IR, I got it. I just want to draw on the practical experience you guys have.

I am used to new digital devices which I take to be forginving and "plug and play" in their use.

Your kind assistance appreciated.

You probably won't get as much power (in most cases it's a definate, but the S5 kits tend to have a pretty high Zout) and the low frequency won't extend as far. It won't detonate or anything like that as an 8ohm load is more gentle on the amplifier. You could always upgrade those transformers anyways to one that will offer an 8ohm tap and give you the option to run Ultra linear. Edcor has some pretty cheap open bracket ones if your on a budget.

Give it a try with the 8ohms. If it sounds bad or isn't loud enough for you then either switch transformers or use a 4ohm load.